What TFBM knows about: building your email list

Last night I had dinner with a friend and we of course got to talking shop.  It started a bit like this, “Ugh darn Facebook!  I have 9000 fans and only reach 1500 tops!  And that’s if I don’t post a picture or tag another page.”  We shared ways we try to “trick the system”: leaving links and pictures in the first comment.  The bottom line is, no matter what you do to trick the system only a fraction of your “fans” see your posts.  So what is a business owner to do to reach your potential customers?

One thing I am starting with is taking control of my true fans and customers.  I do not want to rely on Facebook to communicate to my top customers and buyers.  I am taking them back!  I am doing this by transferring them all to my email list.  I use mailchimp but there are others out there you can choose from. (Don’t get me wrong I will still use Facebook but I am taking as much control as I can before any more changes come my way.)

Here is the catch!  You cannot randomly add people to your list.   They have to opt in (by law).  So this poses the question how do you offer an incentive for people to take a few minutes to visit a sign up form and complete it?

I regularly promote on my fb page that my email list followers get special coupons and offers and leave the link to sign up.  This week I am doing something extra special.  We will see how it works out.  I am offering a $100 shopping spree to one randomly selected person signed up for my, kangacoo designs, email list.  I posted it as you see below and paid $30 to promote it.

OK here is your chance! Sign up for our email list for a chance to win a $100 shopping spree for our spring line! That’s it so simple! One winner will be chosen next week at random from our email subscriber list. Already signed up? You are already entered! 🙂 Sign up here: http://eepurl.com/l5On9

Right now I have 778 email list subscribers.  I will run this offer for 1 week and will update you if the $100 gc was worth it.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under facebook, marketing, what I know about...

2 responses to “What TFBM knows about: building your email list

  1. Elizabeth

    We have the same problem. I’ll be curious to hear your update!

Leave a Reply

